TGF-beta and Immuno-evasion

Helmholtz-INSERM Unit TGF-beta and Immuno-evasion

Dr. Julien C. Marie

Picture of bone-joint illustrating the massive infiltration of lymphocytes in the absence of TGF- β control. (H&E staining X 80)
© dkfz.de

The immune system has to be ignorant against the self-cells to avoid autoimmunity, but in the same time it should also be able to eliminate the self-cells that are noxious for the organism such as tumor cells. Key actors of the tolerance should be ubiquitously expressed, highly abundant in immuno-privilege sites, present before T cell emigration from the thymus, and likely highly conserved between mammalians. Transforming Growth Factor beta (TGF-β) is the only actor fitting with all these criteria. The absence of this cytokine leads to massive autoimmunity touching all the organs. Interestingly, TGF-β is highly produced by the tumor microenvironment and contributes to tumor growth.
We revealed that within the immune system the target-cells of the regulatory effects of TGF-β are T lymphocytes and that TGF-β represses their activation against self-cells. More precisely using models with gain and loss of TGF-β signaling selectively in T cells, we demonstrated that TGF-β controls the pro-inflammatory and cytotoxic program of both CD4 and CD8 effector T cells, the length of T cell response and the early responses of memory cells. Moreover we revealed that TGF-β controls the homeostasis of different T cell subsets such as NKT cells, NK1.1 CD8 T cells, TFH cells and thymus derived Tregs. The Marie lab is one of the two Helmholtz-Inserm labs. It is localized in Lyon, France (4 hours travel from the Heidelberg) and is full part of the Tumor Immunology research program of the DKFZ.

The Marie lab is now investigating the cellular and molecular mechanisms by which TGF-β controls self-tolerance and their importance in the tumor-growth. The physiological approaches will involve careful analysis of the incriminated lymphocyte subsets, using loss and gain of function of TGF-β signaling through transgenic models. Our dynamic group developed key tools to understand the exiting role of TGF-β in tolerance and should propose several mechanisms for auto-immunity and tumor development.

Contact

Dr. Julien C. Marie
TGF-beta and Immuno-evasion ()

Cancer Research Center of Lyon C R C L
Dpt of Immunology, Virology and Inflammation
C R C L
Bat. Cheney A
28 rue Laennec
69 373 Lyon cedex 08
FRANCE

Tel: + 33 4 26 55 67 48/25
E-Mail: j.marie@dkfz.de

Selected Publications

  • McCarron MJ,and Marie JC.(2014) TGF-β prevents T follicular helper cell accumulation and B cell autoreactivity. J Clin Invest.124(10):4375-86.
  • Soudja SM, Ruiz AL, Marie JC, & Lauvau G (2012). Inflammatory monocytes activate memory CD8(+) T and innate NK Lymphocytes independent of cognate antigen during microbial pathogen Invasion. Immunity, 37, 549-562
  • Ruiz AL, Soudja SM, Deceneux C, Lauvau G, and Marie JC. (2014) NK1.1+ CD8+ T cells escape TGF-β control and contribute to early microbial pathogen response. Nature Com. 6;5:5150.
  • Doisne JM, Bartholin L, Yan KP, Garcia CN, Duarte N, Le Luduec JB, Vincent D, Cyprian F, Horvat B, Martel S, Rimokh R, Losson R, Benlagha K, & Marie JC (2009). iNKT cell development is orchestrated by different branches of TGF-beta signaling.J. Exp. Med. 8,206, (6) 1365-1378
to top

Helmholtz-INSERM Gruppe TGF-beta and Immuno-evasion

Dr. Julien C. Marie

Bild eines Knochen-Gelenks, das die massive Einwanderung von Lymphozyten in Abwesenheit einer TGF- β Kontrolle darstellt. (H & E-Färbung X 80)
© dkfz.de

Das Immunsystem muss gegenüber körpereigenen Zellen tolerant sein, sonst entstehen Autoimmunerkrankungen. Gleichzeitig sollte es aber dazu in der Lage sein, körpereigene Zellen, die schädlich für den Organismus sind, wie Tumorzellen, zu erkennen und zu eliminieren. Die Hauptakteure dieser Toleranz müssen überall im Körper vorhanden sein, insbesondere an immunprivilegierten Stellen, und sind vermutlich hochkonserviert zwischen Säugetieren. Der Transformierende Wachstumsfaktor Beta (TGF beta) ist der einzige Faktor, der all diesen Kriterien entspricht. Fehlt TGF beta, führt dies zu einer massiven Autoimmunität, die alle Organe betrifft. Interessanterweise produziert das sogenannte Tumormikro-Milieu, die unmittelbare Umgebung eines Tumors, TGF beta in hohen Konzentrationen und trägt zum Tumorwachstum bei. Wir haben entdeckt, dass die Zielzellen der Effekte von TGF beta die T-Lymphozyten sind, und dass TGF beta ihre Aktivierung gegen körpereigene Zellen unterdrückt. Anhand geeigneter Modelle konnten wir nachweisen, dass TGF beta das proinflammatorische und zytotoxische Programm von CD4 und CD8 T-Zellen kontrolliert, die Dauer der T-Zell-Antwort und die frühe Antwort von Gedächtniszellen.
Das Marie-Labor ist eines von zwei Helmholtz-Inserm-Laboren. Es befindet sich in Lyon, Frankreich (4 Stunden von Heidelberg entfernt) und ist vollwertiges Mitglied des Tumorimmunologie Forschungsprogramms des DKFZ.

Unsere Gruppe untersucht nun die zellulären und molekularen Mechanismen, durch die TGF-β die Immuntoleranz und ihre Bedeutung in Bezug auf Tumorwachstum steuert. Die physiologischen Ansätze beinhalten eine sorgfältige Analyse der inkriminierten Lymphozytenuntergruppen, mit Hilfe von Gewinn- und Verlustmodellen der TGF-β Signalwege durch transgene Modelle. Unsere Gruppe entwickelt wegweisende Modelle, um die Rolle des TGF-β hinsichtlich Immuntoleranz zu verstehen und sollte mehrere Mechanismen für Autoimmunität und Tumorentwicklung vorschlagen.

Kontakt

Dr. Julien C. Marie
TGF-beta and Immuno-evasion ()

Cancer Research Center of Lyon C R C L
Dpt of Immunology, Virology and Inflammation
C R C L
Bat. Cheney A
28 rue Laennec
69 373 Lyon cedex 08
FRANCE

Tel: + 33 4 26 55 67 48/25
E-Mail: j.marie@dkfz.de

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • McCarron MJ,and Marie JC.(2014) TGF-β prevents T follicular helper cell accumulation and B cell autoreactivity. J Clin Invest.124(10):4375-86.
  • Soudja SM, Ruiz AL, Marie JC, & Lauvau G (2012). Inflammatory monocytes activate memory CD8(+) T and innate NK Lymphocytes independent of cognate antigen during microbial pathogen Invasion. Immunity, 37, 549-562
  • Ruiz AL, Soudja SM, Deceneux C, Lauvau G, and Marie JC. (2014) NK1.1+ CD8+ T cells escape TGF-β control and contribute to early microbial pathogen response. Nature Com. 6;5:5150.
  • Doisne JM, Bartholin L, Yan KP, Garcia CN, Duarte N, Le Luduec JB, Vincent D, Cyprian F, Horvat B, Martel S, Rimokh R, Losson R, Benlagha K, & Marie JC (2009). iNKT cell development is orchestrated by different branches of TGF-beta signaling.J. Exp. Med. 8,206, (6) 1365-1378
nach oben