1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Management Board

Chairman and Scientific Director

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Otmar D. Wiestler

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Otmar D. Wiestler | © dkfz.de

Since January 1, 2004, Prof. Dr. Otmar D. Wiestler has been Chairman of the Management Board and Scientific Director. Since 2004 he has been Chairman of the Advisory Committee and member of the board of the German Cancer Aid, from 2007 to 2012 Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres.

Otmar D. Wiestler, born in 1956 in Freiburg, Germany, studied medicine at the University of Freiburg, where he was awarded his doctoral degree in 1984.

From 1984 to 1987 Wiestler joined the Department of Pathology at the University of California in San Diego as a postdoctoral researcher. In 1987 he moved to the Department of Pathology at the University of Zurich, Switzerland. In 1990 he completed his Habilitation in pathology at the University of Zurich.

From 1992 to 2003 he headed the Department of Neuropathology at the University of Bonn, where he also served as head of the German Brain Tumor Reference Center, as coordinator of the collaborative research center SFB 400, and as medical director of LIFE & BRAIN GmbH.
In 2012 Professor Otmar D. Wiestler received an honorary doctorate from the medical faculty of the University of Tübingen.
In 2014 the medical faculty of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München awarded Otmar D Wiestler an honorary doctorate.

Assistants to the Chairman and Scientific Director:
Dr. Esther Breunig
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2163
E-Mail: e.breunig@dkfz.de

Dr. Claudia Mayer
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2653
E-Mail: c.mayer@dkfz.de

Renate Kim
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2851
E-Mail: r.kim@dkfz.de

Dagmar Jarek
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2841
E-mail: d.jarek@dkfz.de

Administrative-Commercial Director

Prof. Dr. Josef Puchta

Prof. Dr. Josef Puchta | © dkfz.de

Josef Puchta has been Administrative-Commercial Director since August 1996.
Josef Puchta – born in 1954 in Altötting, Germany – studied economics at the universities of Augsburg and Erlangen-Nuremberg. He received the doctoral degree of Dr. rer. pol. from the University of Oldenburg where he worked at the Institute of Comparative Political Studies. In 1983 and 1984 Dr. Puchta conducted research in Canada.
From 1987 until 1992 he worked in Berlin for the German Foundation for International Development (DSE) and at the Senate Department of Economics and Technology of the State of Berlin.
In 1992, Josef Puchta was appointed Administrative Director of the German Institute of Human Nutrition (DIfE) in Potsdam.
From 2001 to 2003 Puchta served as vice spokesman of commercial directors and member of the board of directors of the Helmholtz Association.

Assistant to the Administrative-Commercial Director:
Dr. Eva-Maria Hartinger
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2621
E-Mail: e.hartinger@dkfz.de

Tina Berdel
Phone: +49(0)6221 42-2861
E-mail: t.berdel@dkfz.de

Verena Klotz
Tel. +49(0)6221 42-2869
E-Mail: v.klotz@dkfz.de

last update: 15/01/2015 back to top