1. Hauptnavigation
  2. Navigation des Hauptbereiches
  3. Inhalt der Seite

Division of Medical and Biological Informatics

Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Meinzer

Three-dimensional reconstruction of an individual liver. The blood supply through the portal vein (light blue), the hepatic veins (dark blue), arteries (red), gall bladder (green) and three tumors (red), including safety margins (yellow), are shown.
Vergrößerte Ansicht Three-dimensional reconstruction of an individual liver. The blood supply through the portal vein (light blue), the hepatic veins (dark blue), arteries (red), gall bladder (green) and three tumors (red), including safety margins (yellow), are shown.

Research in our division is dedicated to medical image computing, computer-assisted therapy, and the development of a common IT infrastructure for workflow integration and clinical translation of research results.

We develop computational and mathematical methods to extract clinically relevant parameters from medical images and to relate and comprehensively analyze them in their context. Major challenges for our field are the quantitative assessment, validation, and integration of novel imaging and image analysis methods for application as biomarkers in different scenarios, and the optimization of individual cancer treatment and tumor control using quantitative biomedical information about metabolic, physiologic and functional parameters of the tissue.

The second research field of interest is covered by the junior group Computer-assisted interventions (Dr. Lena Maier-Hein), which is associated with the division. Current systems generally rely on the assumption that pre-operatively acquired images used to guide the intervention accurately represent the morphology of the tissue during the procedure. In soft tissue interventions, however, the target organ can be subject to considerable organ shift and deformation. Soft tissue navigation remains a subject of ongoing research.

The third strategic area of activity is the development of a common software platform. In addition to methodological research, the integration of methods in a common information technology (IT) platform is crucial for cooperative and data intensive medical research. Also, open-source and open-data are essential for the reproducibility of research results that depend on computation. Therefore, we aim at an integrated IT concept with appropriate platform technologies, cutting edge analytic tools, and a clear dissemination strategy.

Only if we are able to keep up the tight integration of the different methodological developments into a common platform, we will be able to get most out of the interdisciplinary environment at the DKFZ and come closer to our common vision: technical, cognitive systems that are integrated in the clinical workflow and support the physician in a comprehensive way while permanently retaining vital knowledge to be transferred, accumulated and reused for future cases. Ultimately, the aim is to enable the physician to carry out his work more effectively, providing the upmost quality and benefit to the patient.

Selected Publications

Maier-Hein L, Franz AM, dos Santos TR, Schmidt M, Fangerau M, Meinzer H-P, Fitzpatric JM: Convergent Iterative Closest-Point Algorithm to Accomodate Anisotropic and Inhomogenous Localization Error. IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence 34 (8), 1520-1532, 2012.

Maier-Hein (Fritzsche) KH, Brunner R, Lutz K, Henze R, Parzer P, Feigl N, Kramer J, Meinzer HP, Resch F, Stieltjes B: Disorder-specific white matter alterations in adolescent borderline personality disorder. Biological Psychiatry, BPS-D-12-01466R2, 2013.

Heimann T, van Ginneken B, Styner MA, et al. : Comparison and Evaluation of Methods for Liver Segmentation From CT Datasets. IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging 28 (8), 1251-1265, 2009.

Nolden M, Zelzer S, Seitel A, Wald D, Müller M, Franz AM, Maleike D, Fangerau M, Baumhauer M, Maier-Hein L, Maier-Hein KH, Meinzer HP, Wolf I: The Medical Imaging Interaction Toolkit: challenges and advances. International Journal of Computer Assisted Radiology and Surgery, 1-14, 2013.

last update: 08/04/2014 back to top

Computer-assistierte medizinische Interventionen

Abteilung Computer-assistierte medizinische Interventionen

PD Dr. Lena Maier-Hein

Dreidimensionale Rekonstruktion einer individuellen Leber. Dargestellt sind die portalvenöse Blutversorgung (hellblau), Lebervenen(dunkelblau), Arterien (rot), Gallenblase (grün) sowie drei Tumore (rot) mit Sicherheitsabstand (gelb).
© dkfz.de

Die Forschungsarbeiten unserer Abteilung widmen sich den Bereichen medizinische Bildverarbeitung, rechnergestützte Therapie sowie der Entwicklung einer gemeinsamen IT-Infrastruktur zur Integration und klinischen Translation von Forschungsergebnissen.

Wir entwickeln rechnergestützte und mathematische Methoden, um klinisch relevante Parameter aus medizinischen Bilddaten zu gewinnen und umfassend kontextbezogen zu analysieren. Zu den wichtigsten Herausforderungen in unserem Bereich zählen die Entwicklung und Integration neuer Bildgebungs- und Bildanalysemethoden zur Optimierung der individuellen Krebsbehandlung und Tumorkontrolle unter Verwendung quantitativer biometrischer Informationen über metabolische, physiologische und funktionale Gewebeparameter.

Das zweite Forschungsgebiet wird von der Nachwuchsgruppe Computer-assistierte Interventionen (Dr. Lena Maier-Hein) abgedeckt, die mit der Abteilung assoziiert ist. Aktuelle Systeme gehen generell von der Annahme aus, dass präoperativ erfasste Bilder, die zur Führung des Eingriffs verwendet werden, die Morphologie des Gewebes während der Operation genau darstellen. Bei Weichgewebeeingriffen kann sich das Zielorgan allerdings deutlich bewegen und verformen. Die Navigation in Weichgewebe bleibt daher weiterhin ein wichtiges Forschungsgebiet.

Der dritte strategische Tätigkeitsbereich ist die Entwicklung einer gemeinsamen Softwareplattform. Neben der methodologischen Forschung ist die Integration verschiedener Methoden in eine gemeinsame Informationstechnologie- (IT-)Plattform äußerst wichtig für die kooperative und datenintensive medizinische Forschung. Darüber hinaus sind Open Source und Open Data wesentlich für die Sicherstellung der Reproduzierbarkeit von Forschungsergebnissen im Bereich Informatik. Wir streben deshalb ein integriertes IT-Konzept mit einer geeigneten Plattformtechnologie, modernsten Analyse-Tools und einer klaren Veröffentlichungsstrategie an.

Nur durch eine dauerhafte und enge Einbindung der unterschiedlichen methodologischen Entwicklungen in eine gemeinsame Plattform kann es gelingen, die interdisziplinäre Umgebung am DKFZ optimal zu nutzen und unserer gemeinsamen Vision einen Schritt näher zu kommen: technische, kognitive Systeme, die in den klinischen Workflow integriert sind und den Arzt umfassend unterstützen. Hierbei werden wichtige Erkenntnisse festgehalten, um von ihnen zu lernen und in zukünftigen Fällen auf sie zurückgreifen zu können. Letztendlich ist das Ziel, den Arzt in die Lage zu versetzen, seine Arbeit effektiver durchzuführen, um den Nutzen für den Patienten zu maximieren.

Kontakt

PD Dr. Lena Maier-Hein
Computer-assistierte medizinische Interventionen (E130)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42 2354

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Maier-Hein L, Franz AM, dos Santos TR, Schmidt M, Fangerau M, Meinzer H-P, Fitzpatric JM: Convergent Iterative Closest-Point Algorithm to Accomodate Anisotropic and Inhomogenous Localization Error. IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence 34 (8), 1520-1532, 2012.
  • Maier-Hein KH, Westin CF, Shenton ME, Weiner MW, Raj A, Thomann P, Kikinis R, Stieltjes B, Pasternak O: Widespread white matter degeneration preceding the onset of dementia. Alzheimer’s & Dementia, doi: 10.1016/j.jalz.2014.04.518, 2014. [Epub ahead of print]
  • Engelhardt, S. et al. (2016). Intraoperative Quantitative Mitral Valve Analysis Using Optical Tracking Technology, Ann Thorac Surg, 101(5), 1950–1956.
  • Nolden M, Zelzer S, Seitel A, Wald D, Müller M, Franz AM, Maleike D, Fangerau M, Baumhauer M, Maier-Hein L, Maier-Hein KH, Meinzer HP, Wolf I: The Medical Imaging Interaction Toolkit: challenges and advances. International Journal of Computer Assisted Radiology and Surgery, 1-14, 2013.
nach oben