mbits

© dkfz.de

mbits (formerly: “Medical Embedded Systems”, MES) is a working group within the department of Medical and Biological Informatics (MBI) that focuses on radiological software for mobile devices, such as tablet PCs and smartphones. The group was set up in 2010, about the same time as the first tablet computers became available.

Mobile devices open up completely new possibilities for IT in the health sector, in which mobility, data availability and seamless communication are vital. The group’s initial focus was on transferring the experience and existing technology of the MBI department to mobile medical image processing software and evaluating this software in a clinical setting. In addition to using mobile devices for viewing images and for surgical navigation, the working group carries out research in the field of innovative human–machine interfaces for intraoperative screen control.

Because of the high practical relevance of this topic the group is currently being hived off. The foundation of an mbits GmbH is scheduled for summer 2014. Thereafter the group will continue to actively perform research, in addition to cooperating with the MBI department at the German Cancer Research Center.

© dkfz.de

In 2013 mbits received the Prinz von Hohenzollern Innovation Award, which is awarded every year to exceptional hive-offs in the Rhine-Neckar region of Germany.

For further information about the hive-off, see www.mbits.info.


to top

Computer-assistierte medizinische Interventionen

mbits

© dkfz.de

mbits (früher: "Medical Embedded Systems", MES) ist eine Arbeitsgruppe innerhalb der Abteilung Medizinische und Biologische Informatik (MBI) mit dem Schwerpunkt auf radiologischer Software speziell für mobile Geräte wie Tablet-PCs und Smartphones. Die Gruppe wurde 2010 gegründet- ungefähr zeitgleich mit der Verfügbarkeit der ersten Tablet-Computer.

Mobile Geräte eröffnen völlig neue Möglichkeiten für die IT im Gesundheitswesen, in der Mobilität, Daten-Verfügbarkeit und die reibungslose Kommunikation eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Der initiale Fokus der Gruppe war, die Erfahrung und vorhandene Technologien der Abteilung MBI in mobile Software für die medizinische Bildverarbeitung umzusetzen und klinisch zu evaluieren. Neben der Verwendung von mobilen Geräten zur Bildbetrachtung und zur chirurgischen Navigation forscht die Arbeitsgruppe im Gebiet von innovativen Mensch-Maschinen-Schnittstellen für die intra-operative Bildsteuerung.

Aufgrund der hohen praktischen Relevanz des Themas, befindet sich die Gruppe im Ausgründungsprozess. Eine mbits GmbH soll noch im Sommer 2014 gegründet werden. Dennoch wird die Gruppe weiter aktiv und in Kooperation mit der Abteilung MBI am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum forschen.

© dkfz.de

mbits wurde in 2013 mit dem Prinz-von-Hohenzollern Innovationspreis ausgezeichnet. Dieser jährlich verliehene Preis geht an außergewöhnliche Ausgründungen der Rhein-Neckar-Region.

Mehr Informationen zum Ausgründungsvorhaben unter www.mbits.info.


nach oben