Bioinformatics and Omics Data Analytics

Junior Research Group Bioinformatics and Omics Data Analytics

Dr. Matthias Schlesner

Recurrent rearrangements in the genomes of pediatric medulloblastomas investigated in the ICGC PedBrain project. Green lines represent inter- or intrachromosomal translocations, blue lines deletions, red lines duplications, and black lines inversions. The outer circles indicate hotspots of single nucleotide variants and genomic breakpoints, respectively.
© dkfz.de

Omics technologies and in particular next-generation sequencing have tremendously changed the way biological systems are studied. These technologies produce comprehensive molecular profiles at high resolution, and thereby give detailed insights into molecular changes in human diseases like cancer.

The Bioinformatics and Omics Data Analytics Group explores such high-dimensional data to address questions in basic and translational cancer research. A major focus of our work is the analysis and interpretation of next-generation sequencing data. In interdisciplinary research projects with cancer biologists and clinicians we aim to understand cancer genomes and the alterations of cancer cells at other molecular layers like the epigenome and transcriptome. Our goals include the identification of driver alterations, the reconstruction of tumor evolution, and the identification of targetable lesions and predictive biomarkers. Furthermore, we support personalized oncology projects, for example in the frame of the Heidelberg Center for Personalized Oncology (DKFZ-HIPO), by performing tumor (sub-)classification based on molecular profiles and by predicting the effectiveness of drugs in individual tumors.

To enable the exploration of high-throughput data for cancer research, we develop methods for data analysis, visualization and integration. This includes methods for quality control, processing and analysis of next-generation sequencing data and more general purpose tools like a workflow framework to assist high volume data processing on compute clusters and R packages for enhanced data visualization. We employ statistical and machine learning techniques to identify patterns in large datasets, which are then correlated with biological or clinical properties to ultimately deduce biological mechanisms and causal relationships.

We have contributed to several projects in the International Cancer Genome Consortium (ICGC) and contribute to several working groups of the ICGC Pan-Cancer Analysis of Whole Genomes Project (ICGC PCAWG). Furthermore, we are part of the Heidelberg Center for Human Bioinformatics (HD-HuB) in the German Network for Bioinformatics Infrastructure (de.NBI).

FUTURE OUTLOOK

To better understand the perturbations in cancer cells we will make use of multi-omics data and take advantage of data generated using novel techniques like single-cell methods. We will develop new computational methods for the analysis of novel data types and for the integration of heterogeneous data. Finally, we plan to combine genomics, transcriptomics and epigenomics data with imaging data to identify genomic-imaging signatures representative for certain tumor properties like tumor aggressiveness.

Contact

Dr. Matthias Schlesner
Bioinformatics and Omics Data Analytics (B240)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42-2720

Selected Publications

  • Northcott P.A. et al. (2017) The whole-genome landscape of medulloblastoma subtypes. Nature, 547(7663):311-317.
  • Sahm F. et al. (2017) Meningiomas induced by low-dose radiation carry structural variants of NF2 and a distinct mutational signature. Acta Neuropathol, 134(1):155-158.
  • Gu Z. et al. (2016) Complex heatmaps reveal patterns and correlations in multidimensional genomic data. Bioinformatics, 32(18):2847-9
  • Richter J. et al. (2012) Recurrent mutation of the ID3 gene in Burkitt lymphoma identified by integrated genome, exome and transcriptome sequencing. Nat Genet, 44(12):1316-20.
to top

Nachwuchsgruppe Bioinformatik und Omics Data Analytics

Dr. Matthias Schlesner

Wiederkehrende chromosomale Umlagerungen in Genomen von pädiatrischen Medulloblastomen, die innerhalb des ICGC PedBrain-Projekts untersucht wurden. Grüne Linien repräsentieren inter- oder intrachromosomale Translokationen, blaue Linien Deletionen, rote Linien Duplikationen, und schwarze Linien Inversionen. Die beiden äußeren Kreise zeigen Hotspots für Einzelbasenaustausche und für Bruchpunkte des Genoms.
© dkfz.de

Omics-Technologien sind neuartige Hochdurchsatz-Methoden, mit denen sich etwa das gesamte Genom, Transkriptom oder Proteom einer Zelle erfassen lässt. Sie ermöglichen es, in kurzer Zeit globale, hochaufgelöste molekulare Profile von Zellen, Geweben und Tumoren zu erstellen und haben dadurch die Erforschung biologischer Systeme grundlegend verändert. Eine besondere Rolle spielen dabei die neuesten Sequenziertechnologien (Next Generation Sequencing, NGS) zur Genomsequenzierung. Mit diesen Technologien können molekulare Veränderungen, die mit Erkrankungen wie z.B. Krebs einhergehen, umfassend und detailliert erfasst werden.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Bioinformatik und Omics Data Analytics nutzt die mit Omics-Technologien generierten hochdimensionalen Daten, um Fragen der grundlegenden und translationalen Krebsforschung zu beantworten. Ein Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit ist dabei die Analyse und Interpretation von NGS-Daten. In interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekten mit Krebsbiologen und Onkologen helfen uns diese Daten, die Veränderungen von Krebszellen auf Ebene des Genoms, Epigenoms und Transkriptoms zu verstehen. Ziele dieser Arbeiten sind unter anderem die Identifikation von molekularen Veränderungen, die für die Tumorentstehung und –entwicklung ursächlich sind (sogenannte Driver-Mutationen). Hierbei versuchen wir auch mithilfe von Einzelzellanalysen Rückschlüsse auf die molekulare Evolution des Tumors zu ziehen. Die identifizierten krankheitsrelevanten Veränderungen werden dann auf ihr Potential als Angriffspunkte für neuartige Therapien oder als prädiktive Biomarker, die Therapieansprechen vorhersagen können, geprüft. Weiterhin unterstützen wir Studien zur personalisierten Krebsmedizin wie sie z.B. innerhalb des Heidelberger Zentrums für personalisierte Onkologie (DKFZ-HIPO) durchgeführt werden. Mithilfe einer auf molekularen Profilen basierenden (Sub-)Klassifizierung von Tumoren und Vorhersagen zum Ansprechen bestimmter Therapien für individuelle Tumoren können so unsere Ergebnisse direkt in der Therapie angewendet und getestet werden.

Daten aus Hochdurchsatz-Experimenten können nur durch computerbasierte Verfahren, sogenannte Big Data Methoden, sinnvoll für die Forschung zugänglich gemacht werden. Wir entwickeln Methoden zur Datenanalyse, Visualisierung und Integration um von den großen Datenmengen, die Omics-Technologien generieren, zu biologisch und klinisch relevanten Erkenntnissen zu gelangen. Dazu gehören Methoden zur Qualitätskontrolle, Prozessierung und Analyse von NGS-Daten, aber auch Anwendungen wie ein Workflow-Management-System zur Verarbeitung großer Datenmengen auf Computer-Clustern oder R-Pakete zur verbesserten Datenvisualisierung. Zusätzlich wenden wir verschiedene statistische Verfahren und Techniken des maschinellen Lernens an, um Muster in großen Datensätzen zu erkennen, die mit biologischen oder klinischen Eigenschaften korrelieren und so Rückschlüsse auf biologische Mechanismen und kausale Zusammenhänge erlauben.

Wir sind in verschiedene Forschungsverbünde innerhalb des internationalen Krebsgenomkonsortiums (ICGC) eingebunden und tragen in mehreren Arbeitsgruppen zum “ PanCancer Analysis of Whole Genomes”-Projekt des ICGC (ICGC PCAWG) bei. Weiterhin sind wir Teil des Heidelberg Center for Human Bioinformatics (HD-HuB) im Deutschen Netzwerk für Bioinformatik-Infrastruktur (de.NBI).

Kontakt

Dr. Matthias Schlesner
Bioinformatik und Omics Data Analytics (B240)
Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum
Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
69120 Heidelberg
Tel: +49 6221 42-2720

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Northcott P.A. et al. (2017) The whole-genome landscape of medulloblastoma subtypes. Nature, 547(7663):311-317.
  • Sahm F. et al. (2017) Meningiomas induced by low-dose radiation carry structural variants of NF2 and a distinct mutational signature. Acta Neuropathol, 134(1):155-158.
  • Gu Z. et al. (2016) Complex heatmaps reveal patterns and correlations in multidimensional genomic data. Bioinformatics, 32(18):2847-9
  • Richter J. et al. (2012) Recurrent mutation of the ID3 gene in Burkitt lymphoma identified by integrated genome, exome and transcriptome sequencing. Nat Genet, 44(12):1316-20.
nach oben